Free access · Free tier · verified 2026-09-19

AI Singapore: SEA-LION models (Gemma/Llama SEA-LION variants)

SEA-LION advertises a free API for prototyping and proof-of-concept development, rate-limited to 10 calls per minute per user. Users create one Trial API Key through the Playground. The provider says the free APIs are not designed for production or high-throughput workloads.

Free allowanceNot stated by the provider
Tightest limit10 requests / min
Context cap on the free routeNone stated
To startSignup, payment unknown
Your dataNot stated
TypeStanding
Checkedverified 2026-09-19recheck due 2026-10-19
APIAPI compatibility not stated.
01

The terms in full

SEA-LION advertises a free API for prototyping and proof-of-concept development, rate-limited to 10 calls per minute per user. Users create one Trial API Key through the Playground. The provider says the free APIs are not designed for production or high-throughput workloads.

  • When it runs out Not stated by the provider.
  • Clock The key is labeled a Trial API Key, but no expiration date or elapsed-time limit is stated.
  • Region Not stated by the provider. The service is operated by AI Singapore/National University of Singapore, but no user-location restriction is stated on the audited offer or API pages
02

Models

The API is offer-wide across the SEA-LION models returned for the user's key. Current documentation explicitly demonstrates SEA-LION v4.5 for instruct and function-calling use, SEA-LION v3.5 reasoning models, aisingapore/SEA-Guard, and SEA-LION-ModernBERT-Embedding-600M. The exact authenticated deployment list must be queried with the generated key and is not enumerated on the public offer page.

03

Signup, payment, data

  • Signup required: sign in to the SEA-LION Playground with a Google account and create an API key
  • Card / payment Not stated by the provider.
  • Training Not stated by the provider.
  • Data terms Not stated by the provider. The privacy policy describes collection of account, contact, log, device, browsing, and geographic data, but does not state whether API prompts or outputs are used for model training.
04

What the provider's page says

Every structured number above is backed by one of these quotes, checked verbatim against the page our crawler fetched. A field with no quote is shown as not stated.

  • limits “our rate limits is set to 10 requests per minute per user” source

Evidence pages, re-read nightly

05

Change history

No confirmed change to this program since tracking began. The nightly re-read still runs; a change that survives two consecutive reads lands here.

06

Evidence and scope

Last verified
2026-09-19 (recheck due 2026-10-19)
Evidence standard
Provider-owned pricing, quota, limits, model or account pages only; third-party lists are never evidence.
Data
program.json, and the whole inventory at free-access.json (CC BY 4.0)

LLM Price Index lists what the provider publishes and links the page it came from. It does not test speed or quality, and a free route can change or end without notice; the change history above records what the nightly re-read confirmed.